We’ve Moved!

weve-moved

Hi, there!  Just wanted to let you know that  “Just Wendy” has a new home on our brand spanking new website, www.wendyduke.net.  My friend Barry Burnett did an amazing job helping me design and set up the new website, and we packed up all of the old blog posts and pictures and moved them over to the new digs last week. So I want to invite you to move over with us. I’d be thrilled if you’d check out the new site and subscribe (or resubscribe) to my blog by entering your email address into any of the tabs throughout the new site.  My biggest fear in making this change was losing contact with any subscribers, so I’m hoping this transition will be easy and that

I’ve been blogging for a little over a year now, and I’ve been so grateful for the kind notes of encouragement many of you leave in the comments. I really do feel like God is opening some doors that are sometimes a little scary to walk through, but every time someone subscribes to the blog or says something kind about a blog I’ve posted, it gives me courage to keep writing and walking in obedience.

As my first subscribers, I’d really love to have your input as I try to hone my skills as a writer and use my words to speak life into people.  You’ve traveled this journey with me, and  I’m trying to identify exactly what people are looking for as they choose what to read and what moves them. So if you’d be willing to answer a few questions, it would help me know how better to serve you:

  • In what areas of life do you need encouragement / perspective?
  • What are you most interested in reading about?
  • How does my writing style / fit into those needs? Which of my posts have been most inspiring or encouraging to you?
  • What does the world need to hear? Or maybe just you?

If you have the time to answer some of these, you can respond in a comment below or email me at wendy@wendyduke.net. Seriously, I want to know what moves you and others, and I’d be grateful for your input.

I also want to share some of my favorite blogs. I don’t have time to surf the web much, but when I come across a writer who is fresh and thoughtful and looks at the world with a different slant, I take note, and I want to pass them along.  So here are a few I’ve been reading lately:

Sarah Bessey

sarah bessey

http://sarahbessey.com/  Sarah Bessey is one of my favorite writers right now.  She is incredibly intelligent, a mom of four and radical follower of Jesus, but her writing is heart-felt and emotional, getting down to the nitty-gritty in family, faith and justice. I REALLY like her.

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

jamie the very worst missionary  www.theveryworstmissionary.com  I discovered Jamie Wright while we were living in Myanmar.  She was leaving the mission field that summer and moving back to the States where her husband would serve on staff at a new church.  She’s irreverent, hilarious, and spot on in her observations about Christians and ministry.  I have laughed out loud more than a few times reading about her blunders as a pastor’s wife–she writes what most of us don’t have the guts to say.  Warning: she verges on being crass, but she’ll definitely never be called pretentious.

T.E. HANNA

Hanna_TE

Of Dust & Kings by TE Hanna  at http://tehanna.com   He’s thoughtful and smart and challenges our religious traditions.

Rachel Held Evans

rachel-held-evans

Everybody needs to check out Rachel Held Evans at www.rachelheldevans.com.  She’s she’s already rocking the boat in her photo shoot. She’s tapped into current events and discusses them through the lens of Jesus, but without being churchy.  She’s not afraid to tackle controversial issues (mainly issues of the Church),and her journey of faith has stirred up some dissention, but I find her to be witty and thoughtful and courageous in dealing head-on with tough topics.

This guy, Anthony, at http://www.ironandiron.com/ is such a typical guy.  His blogs are really short and sometimes randomly funny, but other times he’ll post a video like this one that every man in the world needs to watch.  So I’m trying to get the word out about Anthony, because I think men will like him.

So, check out these great voices.  And . . . you’re welcome.

I’m posting my next blog tonight so click over and subscribe really fast so you’ll see it first.

Hope to see ya at http://www.wendyduke.net!

WD

Leave a comment